Slumdog Millionaire (2008)



Jamal Malik is one question away from winning 20 million rupees. How did he do it?

A) He cheated
B) He’s lucky
C)He is a genius
D)It’s written… 

Ok, ok, I know… Slumdog Millionaire doesn’t count as either Bollywood or Indian movie. It appears as British, you’ll see it if  you search for it in Wikipedia. But I thought I should write about it, since it tells about India and it is the movie that started everything ;)

I remember somebody insisted so much that I should watch Slumdog Millionaire. I looked at its poster and thought it was too dark; there was this guy’s face from the side and why was that girl running anyway? I thought I didn’t like drama, I just wanted to watch things which cheer me up. How stupid of me!

I watched Slumdog Millionaire many times… Primarily what impressed me was that they never gave up. They continued to live, to hang in there, to make effort for a better life. 3 main characters did this in their own style, quite differently from each other, sometimes unethically, but still…

While watching the movie, I realized how easily we give up in life, feel depressed, whine because we don’t have things quickly and as in the way we want. We set certain criteria for ourselves as life standards and we think we will only be happy if we reach them.  Do you we believe in destiny or we only believe in what science tells us? Can it be really written and is there a reason why we go through all those difficult times in life?

I also realized that I knew nothing about India; why Jamal jumped into the stinky, filthy pool under the toilet to see Amitabh Bachchan as a start :) I started watching movies, reading about India, listening to Indian music. I even traveled to India and bought “Teach Yourself Hindi” books . So when I said it all started with this movie, I wasn’t joking! :)

I don’t write anything about the plot, the cast or the soundtrack of the movie; I’m sure you already heard a lot about them (if not, see the links below). But if you haven’t watched it somehow until this very day, please watch it this week. It is a bit dark and depressing I admit but there is something in it which I’m sure you’ll like. Besides, love of Jamal for Latika is worth seeing. I remember I sighed at the end of movie and thought if somebody would love me like Jamal loved Latika :)

As a note, the soundtrack is very good, composed by A.R. Rahman, had many awards. I like all the songs in the soundtrack, but Mausam & Escape, Ringa Ringa and Gangsta Blues are my personal favorites beside Jai Ho.

Leave a Reply

